About Polygamy

What is Polygamy ?

Polygamy is the practice of marrying multiple spouses or practice or condition of having more than one spouse at one time.

Polygamy exists in three specific forms:

(1) Polygyny- wherein a man has multiple simultaneous wives or the practice wherein a man has more than one wife at the same time, is by far the most common form of polygamy.

Polygynous marriages fall into two types:

1- sororal polygyny, in which the co-wives are sisters.

2- non-sororal, where the co-wives are not related.

(2) Polyandry- wherein a woman has multiple simultaneous husbands or the practice of a woman having more than one husband at the one time, is much less prevalent than polygyny and is now illegal in virtually every country in the world. It takes place only in remote communities.

Polyandry marriages fall into two types:

1- Fraternal polyandry in which two or more brothers would marry the same woman.

2- Non-fraternal polyandry occurs when the wives' husbands are unrelated, where girls undergo a ritual marriage before puberty, and the first husband is acknowledged as the father of all her children. 

(3) Group marriage- wherein the family unit consists of multiple husbands and multiple wives of legal age.

Group marriage is a marriage wherein the family unit consists of more than two partners, any of whom share parental responsibility for any children arising from the marriage. Group marriage is a form of non-monogamy and polyamory.

Overall Polygamy is a relationship with multiple partners, because it's not cheating if you have no secrets and your partner are alright with you bringing another into their life,

This is your life and if you are not hurting anyone, then you deserve to live it in your own way.

Happy Polygamy :)

Connect on Facebook

Password protected photo
Password protected photo
Password protected photo